We seem to be having a bit of a Chinook. It’s a nice break from the -0F temps we’ve been having…but it’s nothing to get hopes up. We have 4 more months of winter to look forward to…that’s a fact that can’t be changed by wishful thinking. It’s about 34F right now and breezy. Blue sky and fluffy white clouds and snow that looks like it could start melting any minute. But, it’s just a tease from Mother Nature!

The tree is up and decorated! It’s a smaller one than we’ve had in the past so all of our decorations fit it nicely compared to the past when we’ve had to creatively arrange them so there would be no bald spaces. The only decorations I’ve bought for years are the “First Christmas” ornaments for each new baby. I like a simple tree and I’m quite happy with the color scheme I chose long ago. I do gold bows and beads with white mini lights. Angel ornaments that are crocheted or lacey along with clear glass ornaments – “teardrop” shaped ones and “icicle” ones and our children’s “first” ones. I have a few white satin balls I trimmed with gold braid, a bird’s nest with gold eggs and a few other gold ornaments. When we had a bigger tree, sometimes I filled in space with Christmas cards we received. I’m not sure where I’ll put cards this year. We have a huge rock fireplace but no mantel. No shelves… We have a very open floor plan and no wall space in areas that would look good decorated. So mostly my decorating consists of the tree and candles on the dining table and endtables and perhaps in the bathroom. We’ve lived here 7 yrs already and have been in a perpetual state of remodeling…I find it quite a challenge to “decorate” whether it’s the holidays or not. When we have done what we want done anyway, it won’t change the floorplan at all so it won’t be easier to set up furniture, etc. We’ve come the the conclusion this house doesn’t suit us…but we are here and will make the best of it. 🙂 Well, that was a tangent I didn’t intend so before I really ramble and bore you all I’ll go have lunch with the kiddos…

