I finished the 9 patch squares I was putting together for a baby quilt. All are arranged a little differently but here’s a general idea…

These are very special squares as they are made from ones that dh’s grandmother cut out (“old school” methods – no rotary cutters and fancy see-through rulers, etc. so they are not quite “square” and the corners didn’t come together precisely…although I have no doubt she would have been able to do it! πŸ™‚ I didn’t want to “adjust” them in any way…wanted to have them just the way she did)…she passed away last July. I inherited a bunch of her sewing supplies and fabrics. I found these in one of the fabric bags already cut out. I did have to suppliment with a patch or two of my own fabric in the last three squares as hers ran out. She was a wonderful quilt maker…her speciality being appliquing cute characters onto each of her great-grandbabies baby quilts she made for them. Her grandchildren received tied quilts made from various fabrics. My sil’s quilt is a wonderful large quilt made from wool scraps. Dh’s quilt is from durable polyester square scraps (it was made in the late 70’s or early 80’s ;-)) and is very large to accomodate his large 6’4″ frame. She has several others that were distributed amongst the family and we ended up with three others…of which is a wonderul tied one made of wool squares. The great-grandbabies (or later grandchildren’s) quilts are so cute. I’ll have to share pics of our children’s… Our last child did not receive one as she was too sick to complete it. I do have the fabric and supplies she chose for it though… I wonder if I’ll ever be able to put it together in her “style” and do her justice…!!! Until I feel more confident, I’ve lovingly stored them away in my craft closet. I actually started these squares before becoming pregnant and thought I would sell the quilt when it was finished. I have since changed my mind although I don’t think these scraps had sentimental/significant meaning to her. (They weren’t from grandpa’s army uniform, etc. I have even found fabric scraps from a couple of dresses she made my sil when she was my oldest daughter’s age!!!) The are special to me now and will be especially if this new baby is a girl…because this just looks like a baby girl combination to me. πŸ˜‰ If it’s a girl, it will be hers…from her great-grandma E. She’ll be getting hers before her older brother! πŸ˜‰ If not, I’ll give it to my oldest daughter for her first child…from her great-great grandmother…in a sense. I’m going to be putting these away for a while because I haven’t quite decide how I want to procede. What color strips to put between each square, what I want for backing, do I want to tie it or hand vs. machine quilting, etc. It will come to me…with time…

I think I need to leave off this subject before I really flood the keyboard for my tears. Although she wasn’t my grandmother, I was closer to her than my own…although I only knew her for about 13 yrs…which is, sadly, not very long when I think of it…I miss her a lot.

ps – I decided not to try to finish M.’s pinafore before Easter. All us girls have coordinated (not “matching” but coordinated! ;-)) outfits from last year and everybodies dresses still fit. So, we will wear those again…to make things simpler on Mama. πŸ˜‰

