Our baby boy stood for the first time all by himself last night!!!

(All of our children have waited until they were a year old before standing and walking…except one which did it at 9 months.) We all have been helping him over the coarse of the last month or two…propping him and letting go. But, he just didn’t want to. A lot of the time he was quite “solid” on his feet but the interest wasn’t there so it didn’t last more than a few seconds before he would sit down and zoom off to something more interesting. He has been the fastest on his knees though… Man! Can that child *crawl*! LOL We have given him an Indian name as a result…he is now called “Crawls Fast.” πŸ˜‰ Seriously though, all of our children have waited until they mentally knew they could do it…you could see them thinking it through. It was like they didn’t want to do it until they knew there wouldn’t be any falling down, etc. Once they started, they were very steady on their feet and there wasn’t very much falling down…interesting. My second child was the one that walked early and she wasn’t like this…she just went for it! LOL She had many tumbles. πŸ˜‰ Anyway, Q. was so proud of himself and we all got pretty excited! He was playing with a little toddler wooden rocker from my childhood (which was purchased by my parents at an estate sale when I was an infant and it was pretty old then…one day I’ll do some research to find out if it’s an antique or not…) practicing getting in and out of it, pushing it like a walker, etc. and then he just stood up (he was bent over a little holding on to the arms) and let go!!! Stood there just as steady as a rock and more than just a few seconds…maybe even a full minute!!! We waited and waited and waited…and then started clapping…and he still stood there! When we were finally tiring of clapping, he decided he wanted to get in on the act so he bent over a little again unsure of what to do (but *didn’t* grab the chair) and then in a few moments he sat down and joined in the clapping. I’m always amazed when each one hits these milestones…I never tire of it!!! It’s so awesome!!! πŸ™‚ Q. has also been practicing walking around and around our loveseat. I think this boy will be walking as summer hits. πŸ™‚

The flooding is at it’s worst so far… A real drag. That’s all I have to say about that. πŸ˜›

Yesterday the temps were in the hi 50F’s. The front yard is clearing of snow fast. On the north side of the driveway, the snow is nearly all gone on it’s own. On the south side of the driveway, which is the north side of the house, we have shoveled approx. half of that berm. Tossing it into the driveway where it will melt faster and runoff away from the house. The rhubarb is in this area so it is completely uncovered now and we are seeing little red and pink nubs emerging! Hurray! The north half of the raspberry patch is clear of snow too! Hurray! I want to get in there but the path still has some snow that’s more than ankle deep… Maybe I’ll brave it, maybe I won’t. πŸ˜‰ I have big plans for it this year…of course, I’ll be as big as those plans myself LOL, so we’ll see if I actually accomplish all I want to… On the south side of the house, the snow is completely melted off the top of the garden box but not around it yet…still a foot or a little more out there. Near the shed though things are clearing fast. The strawberries are over in that area so I think I’ll mosey over there today and check things out. I have a garden journal I should be putting this all in…but when I get typing and the thoughts are flowing, I hate to stop in the middle. Anyway, I’ll cut and past this over there (sorry for the redundancy for those that read both of my journals!) and expand on it a little…

The family is all up now and watching home improvement shows on PBS. We love to do this…all the children are fascinated and inspired…even the 3 yr old!!! LOL πŸ™‚ It helps that Daddy is handy that way anyway…we are always getting grand ideas and making list of things for him to create for us. Speaking of which, we haven’t done my lean-to/greenhouse/cold-frame yet…the flooding has preoccupied us. Hopefully though today we can at least start on it…

I better cut this short(er) LOL and get to it! πŸ™‚

A blessed weekend to all! πŸ™‚

