Yesterday the temps were in the hi 50F’s. The front yard is clearing of snow fast. On the north side of the driveway, the snow is nearly all gone on it’s own. On the south side of the driveway, which is the north side of the house, we have shoveled approx. half of that berm. Tossing it into the driveway where it will melt faster and runoff away from the house. The rhubarb is in this area so it is completely uncovered now and we are seeing little red and pink nubs emerging! Hurray! The north half of the raspberry patch is clear of snow too! Hurray! I want to get in there but the path still has some snow that’s more than ankle deep… Maybe I’ll brave it, maybe I won’t. šŸ˜‰ I have big plans for it this year…of course, I’ll be as big as those plans myself LOL, so we’ll see if I actually accomplish all I want to… On the south side of the house, the snow is completely melting off the top of the garden box but not around it yet…still a foot or a little more out there. Near the shed though things are clearing fast. The strawberries are over in that area so I think I’ll mosey over there today and check things out. I have a garden journal I should be putting this all in…but when I get typing and the thoughts are flowing, I hate to stop in the middle. Anyway, I’ll cut and past this over there (sorry for the redundancy for those that read both of my journals!) and expand on it a little…

The family is all up now and watching home improvement shows on PBS. We love to do this…all the children are fascinated and inspired…even the 3 yr old!!! LOL šŸ™‚ It helps that Daddy is handy that way anyway…we are always getting grand ideas and making list of things for him to create for us. Speaking of which, we haven’t done my lean-to/greenhouse/cold-frame yet…the flooding has preoccupied us. Hopefully though today we can at least start on it…

**Expanded part:

I started more seeds yesterday. What’s new is listed in the left sidebar. I’m running out of room in front of my sliding doors to put all the pots, etc. I was “forced” to do so many Hollyhocks because one of my dear children got both packets soaking wet. I hated the thought of throwing away the seeds so… If they prove to be too many for us, I have someone in mind I can give some to. I’ll have to have my husband dig some more 6 pack containers out of the shed attic before I do more seeds. I vowed that I would not buy more seeds this year. I want to use up whatever I have already and than hope and pray I have my *real* greenhouse next summer and then I’ll start “fresh.” I’ve determined that I want to go poke around in the yards today. I’ll only be “inspecting” as there is still too much snow and the temps are still pretty chilly at night to do much more. I’m always impressed with the rhubarb every year at this time…it pokes itself up through snow and ice like it wasn’t there. Hardy stuff. I want to rake in the clear areas (raspberry patch, etc.) but I won’t as I know the plants need that covering protection still.

That’s it on the gardening front at the moment…

A blessed weekend to all! šŸ™‚

