Can’t believe it’s been a week already since I was here…! Hmm, let’s see if I can remember the past week and play a little catch up…

Wed. and Thurs. were overcast and I believe we had a bit of rain on Thurs. The temps were fairly cool too so we were inside doing housework and school work of course. Friday the sun broke out at times and the children went out side in the afternoon finally. Saturday was really nice!! The thermometer was pushing 75F shaded so it must have been 80F on the deck in the sun. It took awhile for me to get out…just when you think you are ready this or that child didn’t finish a chore or someone needs you to help them find socks or someone needs their shoes tied and there is always one more dish discovered some where that needs to be washed or the bath was left a disaster and you want to give it a quick wipe down before you get involved with something else…you know…those kinds of things. 😉 I finally made it out about 1:30pm or so and spent the rest of the afternoon raking along the driveway and got started cleaning out the raspberry patch (more about that in my garden journal). I also poked around in the garden box breaking up clods of dirt from emptied containers from the tomatoes last year and pulled some weeds just sprouting and the old squash plants and a few other things.

Q. napped in his stroller from a long while having fallen asleep watching me prune and rake. I took a few pictures of the yard, etc. and one of a tough AKan boy. 😉 Dh also actually, finally, really did start on the cold-frame/mini-greenhouse on the deck and took pics of that too to prove it. 😉

Speaking of pics…I can’t believe I haven’t completed our March album, haven’t started one for April and here we are into MAY already!!! Where oh where does time run off to?!?! I am glad Spring/Summer are here officially now though…such a big relief.

The water still flows in Little Hunt Creek but since most of the snow is gone in the back yard it can’t last much longer…(can it?!?!) Although, it hasn’t really shown much sign of slowing down… sigh. On to other things.

Sunday was dark and drizzly and gloomy ALL day. We went to church and then dh napped all day having stayed up most of the night working on projects. The children read and colored and did other rainy day things inside and I just read. We had picked up some take-out so didn’t even have to cook! 🙂 Needless to say, it was a very relaxing “day of rest.”

Monday was partly sunny cloudy again…I think the clouds had the upper hand though. But yesterday…!!! Another glorious day of sunshine!!! Again, mid-hi 70F’s and reaching 80F’s in the full sun. I spent most of the day on the deck reading and watching Q. He always has so much fun being “independent” going in and out of the house on his own and just amusing himself with whatever he finds out there…toys, daddy’s tools, etc. 😉 I also had to stay in close proximity to our oldest as she was working on school work and needed help frequently. The others I gave the day off and they were outside ALL day. E. loves to run around with his shirt off and “wades” in the pool frequently. (We haven’t filled it up for the year yet but the children put a bit of water in with the hose and wade through…mostly the water gets used for mudpies, etc. 😉 ) I even got a bit sunburned. I wanted to get out to the raspberry patch and finish up but it just didn’t happen. I did assist dh with the “greenhouse” a bit…he ran out of staples though when hanging the plastic so he had to run to the hardware store but that kind of put an end to it as he got busy with other things on his return. Perhaps we’ll finish that up today??? I hope so! Taking the plants in and out, in and out of the house is a labor of love definitely but I’m always afraid I’m going to forget (like I did to the geraniums one day last week…thankfully it wasn’t one of the days the temp dropped for the rain!!)…and it does get a little “old” sometimes…especially when you have a lot of things started… Anyway, I hope. 😉 I did manage to get out into the backyard for a bit in the later afternoon and turned the soil in the garden box. (We found a couple interesting grubs that fascinated the children for a while…) I also put some compost in it. I’ll need to get some peat moss soon as it definitely needs more organic matter…it’s still rather hard…not fluffy. 😉 I checked out the strawberry patch too. They will definitely have to be dug as they are concentrating too much on producing runners and not fruit. Oh, and I pruned the lilac out back just a touch too. It’s much taller than me but I got what was needed most. I checked the mint too…I’m not sure it survived this year. I’ll give it a couple more weeks…

That’s about all for now. I was up early today as I’ve gotten a couple good nights of rest…just ignored the sumps and slept. Today looks like it’s going to be another beautiful day so I want to finish up breakfast and kitchen chores as fast as possible (throwing in a load or two of laundry meanwhile…) and get school work done as quick as possible (the others aren’t going to have the day off today 😉 )so we can get out there and garden and just plain enjoy the freedom “no snow!!!” brings!!! Hurray!!!

A blessed and productive day to all! 🙂

