Most of last week was cloudy and/or rainy so we didn’t do much outside. Saturday was really nice though!! The thermometer was pushing 75F shaded so it must have been 80F on the deck in the sun. The snow is completely gone now from my gardening areas and yards. Hurray! I finally made it out about 1:30pm or so and spent the rest of the afternoon raking along the driveway and got started cleaning out the raspberry patch. Clipping back the spent canes, those that started to grow in the paths and some that were damaged. I remember last year mentioning in my main blog that some big animal had gone through there and bent over/broke a good section of canes… Well, those went too although it was killing me because many of them had leaf buds and some were even starting to open. It couldn’t be helped though. Many were bent/broken so that they laid right over…into the paths or would have interfere with other canes and their growth. Oh well. As we “compost” much of that kind of material around the property, I know those canes will grow else where and produce a “surprise” patch for the children that they can pick from to their hearts content (without Mama shooing them out saying, “Those are for the freezer!” 😉 ) I also clipped back some alders that get out of control every year (along the entrance to the raspberry patch) and hacked up some Skunk Cabbage…I can’t stand that stuff!!! The patch is large and far from done and hopefully I can finish some time this week. Also on Saturday, Dh actually, finally, really did start on the cold-frame/mini-greenhouse on the deck and took pics of that too to prove it. 😉 I also poked around in the garden box breaking up clods of dirt from emptied containers from the tomatoes last year and pulled some weeds just sprouting and the old squash plants and a few other things.

Sunday was dark and drizzly and gloomy ALL day so no gardening…

Monday was partly sunny cloudy again…I think the clouds had the upper hand though and we didn’t go out. But yesterday…!!! Another glorious day of sunshine!!! Again, mid-hi 70F’s and reaching 80F’s in the full sun. I spent most of the day on the deck reading and watching Q. He always has so much fun being “independent” going in and out of the house on his own and just amusing himself with whatever he finds out there…toys, daddy’s tools, etc. 😉 I also had to stay in close proximity to our oldest as she was working on school work and needed help frequently. I got a bit sunburned…it always feels so good to lounge in the sun though after such a long winter that I completely forget about the time and sunscreen. It’s not too bad but still I hate the least damage to my skin. Anyway, I wanted to get out to the raspberry patch and finish up but it just didn’t happen. I did assist dh with the “greenhouse” a bit…he ran out of staples though when hanging the plastic so he had to run to the hardware store but that kind of put an end to it as he got busy with other things on his return. Perhaps we’ll finish that up today??? I hope so! Taking the plants in and out, in and out of the house is a labor of love definitely but I’m always afraid I’m going to forget (like I did to the geraniums one day last week…thankfully it wasn’t one of the days the temp dropped for the rain!!)…and it does get a little “old” sometimes…especially when you have a lot of things started… Anyway, I hope. 😉 I did manage to get out into the backyard for a bit in the later afternoon and turned the soil in the garden box. (We found a couple interesting grubs that fascinated the children for a while…) I also put some compost in it. I’ll need to get some peat moss soon as it definitely needs more organic matter…it’s still rather hard…not fluffy. 😉 I checked out the strawberry patch too. They will definitely have to be dug up and put in a box as they are concentrating too much on producing runners and not fruit. Oh, and I pruned the lilac out back just a touch too. It’s much taller than me but I got what was needed most. I checked the mint too…I’m not sure it survived this year. I’ll give it a couple more weeks…

That’s all the garden news for now. Hopefully, I’ll get some pics up some time this week…although it’s early in the season and there isn’t much to see just yet. 😉

A blessed and productive day to all! 🙂

