Last Friday…same ol’, same ol’. Summertime is basically here and with it comes those “lazy days.” So, although we pretty much stuck to routine, it was difficult… The children dawddle at their chores and school work and I felt pretty apathetic to what I had to do too. But, with the wonderful weather, spirits were still pretty good through it all. Dh was home most of the day and E. spent his time with him rather than bugging his sisters while they did what they were supposed to. Everyone was outside in the afternoon and I pretty much finished up the raspberry patch of raking and cutting back old/damaged canes. It still needs work but now I have to “regroup” and think on it. I did a bunch of laundry and started packing as we were going out of town for the weekend. That was pretty much it…

Saturday, we left for the Peninsula and surprised my mother where she works and then spent the afternoon putzing around my parents place with my dad. The children ran around and played with all the animals. Dh got started on trimming limbs and cutting down trees for my father that had been damaged by all the snow this year. I raked a bit but mostly played with the baby and read magazines. We stayed up late watching a couple of movies and then slept at the fish camp…what fun!

Sunday, up about the usual time and headed up to the house. Spent the afternoon with my father again as my mother had to work until mid-afternoon. Dh dropped a tree that was completely hollow as the ants had quite a nest in it. The baby was quite tired from all the excitement and late night so he took a looong nap and that gave me a chance to get out and take the other children by turns for rides on the 4-wheeler and for walks through the woods. They actually had many rides all weekend since my father had the wagon attached most of the time to haul leaves, etc. out into the woods to dump…they never tired of it. Fun! I managed to squeeze in a good nap also. Mom got home and we had a late lunch and enjoyed visiting for a while again before we headed for home in evening. Got home around 1am Mon. morning. Gave everyone a quick shower and hit the hay.

Monday, slept in. πŸ˜‰ I checked out my plants as soon as I got up. I had watered everything really well Sat. before leaving so I wasn’t too worried about that. But, the temps are still iffy this time of year and, this being the first year with a shelter for the starts, I was concerned that it had gotten too cold while we were gone. And, I had left the two potatoes that are planted already uncovered and forgotten to call my aunt to see if she could cover them for me if it did get below 40F. (Turns out they were out of town too though so it wouldn’t have mattered!) Everything looked great though and I’m pleased! πŸ™‚ Yay! Yesterday was pretty overcast most of the morning and then it began to rain in the afternoon. We lazed around in the morning watching Mr. Rogers (yes, the tv has made it’s way in from the garage again…sigh.) and Martha Stewart living. We finally had something to eat, did our kitchen chores and then did a bit of school works around the fire. Then, it was dinner, story and bed time. Short day…

Today is rainy again so no outside work. I have to catch up laundry anyway so it’s just as well. The children are beginning to straggle up now so we’ll eat, clean up the kitchen, do some school work and then we’ll hit that laundry together! πŸ˜‰ When we’re burned out on that…I’m not sure what we’ll do…pull out some games or puzzles or something…

Have a blessed day everyone! πŸ™‚

