Heaven sent…Heaven returned.

“…and suddenly a great wind came from across the wilderness and struck the four corners of the house, and it fell on the young people, and they are dead; and I alone have escaped to tell you!” Then Job arose, tore his robe, and shaved his head; and he fell to the ground and worshiped. And he said: “Naked I came from my mother’s womb, And naked shall I return there. The Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away; Blessed be the name of the Lord.” In all this Job did not sin nor charge God with wrong.

Job 1:19-22

The book of Job has been a tremendous source of encouragement and strength for me through the years during various trials. I have always found amazing Job’s response at the loss of all of his children…and hoped and prayed that I could respond in the same way should I/We suffer a loss of any of our children. Now, I suspect that the loss of a child that has been living and you’ve come to know and cherish day after day, year after year would be more painful than the loss of one you’ve never seen nor even felt. However, there is still grief…knowing that you will not have the chance for those things. It may be easier and take less time to get over…when it’s finally over…the loss of an unborn child. But, a life it was never the less and the words of Job are a comfort now and an example.

I/We can honestly and in a heartfelt way say (although it still hurts and it’s not over for me physically)…

The Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away; Blessed be the name of the Lord.

The miscarriage “officially” began May 19th. I spent a week spotting old brownish blood and then spent 3 days spotting bright “fresh” blood. May 28th at 2:30 am I went into labor that last almost exactly 2 hours. A little after 4:30 am I “passed” the placenta, etc. Took a shower and was back in bed at 5 am. Around, 6:30 am I was crampy again and passed more “stuff”. I made some Raspberry Leaf/Nettle tea (uterine toner and good for blood as it’s high in iron) and went back to bed definitely feeling “post-partumish”. I followed the post-partum routine given by my midwife 4x over (our first child was born in the hospital not at home) and so far all is going “normally”. I am sore, headachy, stiff and a bit emotional. Hopefully, the bleeding will not last as long as my other post-partum recovery times. I’m taking it easy and am glad for a 3 day holiday weekend so that my dh will be around to assist me and take of the children. I’ve been up too long already this morning/early afternoon so I must close for now. Just wanted to update everyone…

Thanks for all the thoughts and prayers being sent our way!

