I haven’t been blogging here much since the miscarriage started…

I’ve been taking it easy and trying to recover as fast as possible. The plants have mostly just been needing to grow anyway so that’s what they’ve been doing. πŸ˜‰ I visit them every day of course and water them if they need it. For a week, I pretty much didn’t do anything except watch and water…if that as it had been raining off and on and they were staying pretty moist. Last weekend, I did start to transplant a plant or two here or there into bigger pots. As I did so, I moved them out of the greenhouse onto the deck next to it to start hardening them off.

The garden box from last year also got moved closer to the others so that dh can rearranged some logs in the backyard. This box is approx. 4′ x 4′ x 2′(deep). The other garden box is approx. 2′ x 12′ x 1′(deep). Then, the 4 potato boxes. That’s a start. Hopefully, dh can get some time this weekend to build me another and that should do it for this year.

I started filling the long box this afternoon…a small section anyway. I’m waiting for dh to bring home a load of soil to fill the rest of it. The dirt that’s in there now was the stuff I hauled over from the original box so he could move it. I scraped it all to one end and I have a section that’s about 2′ x 2′ that has soil reaching the top of the box. I put a board on the open side to keep the soil from sluffing away. In that section I planted 2 Hollyhocks, 1 Pea, 1 Bush bean and 3 Radishes in an arrangement like this:

H P H

BB

R R R

Definitely my modification of “Square Foot Gardening”. Works for me…I hope. πŸ˜‰ Now, to fill the rest with soil…

I have Mint still…yay! I thought it had all died back this winter but it’s still out there. I think I’ll transfer the few plants I found into one of the garden boxes…

The Rhubarb is huge and I think I’ll be harvesting our first stalks in a couple of days.

The Raspberry patch is turning into a jungle!!! The mosquitoes are just horrid so the little bit of gardening I’ve been doing has been tolerable…buuuut, to get out into that patch would be torture right now… Ugh. I remember this being part of the problem last year (why we didn’t take better care of it).

The Crabapple is blooming like crazy now! So beautiful!!! And, fragrant!!! Love it. πŸ™‚

Ok, I think that’s it for now… If I do or think of anything else today, I’ll be back later in the evening! πŸ™‚

Until then…or whenever I do eventually get back here…

Happy Gardening!

