Monday was spent with morning chores, going to the doc, doing a few errands in town and, in the afternoon, getting the children caught up with the chores they neglected while I was gone plus a bit of school work. It was kind of cloudy off and on too and we didn’t feel like facing the mosquitoes so we didn’t go out to play or garden or do yard work.

Tuesday some rather annoying things were happening (that I won’t discuss) that kept me occupied all day and by late afternoon/evening I was too beat (mostly mentally/emotionally) to think of anything except my bed.

Wednesday (yesterday) I finally got outside to spend some time with the garden and raspberry patch. I “stole” some dirt from the raspberry patch in an area that’s pretty shaded and the canes aren’t growing real well. I also took some from around the well. All topsoil we had brought in a couple of years ago so it’s good dirt if a little weedy now. I was using the smaller wheelbarrow as I didn’t want to break canes if I could help it plus I wouldn’t have been able to fill the larger on and get up and down the path and rocks well anyway. As it was I need my older daughter to lift a little to help me in a couple of places. Anyway, managed to get enough to finish filling the first section in the long box (dh put a divider board in the middle just to make it more stable). I was able to finish transplanting all of the radishes, turnips and bush beans. The squash really, really, really need to go in the ground today as they are tipping over in the small containers. So, I’ll be hauling dirt again today trying to get enough to fill in the other secion of the long box. I don’t want to put the squash in there as it is rather narrow and would rather have them in the big square deep box from last year but that would take more dirt than I have I think even taking it from the areas I am. At any rate, the rest of the hollyhocks and peas (especially) need to go in the ground today if possible (although it’s not critical) and I do want them in the long box. Plus, I almost forgot about the cauliflower, that really needs to get into the ground and the long box is where I want them too. Before I started hauling the dirt though I cut back some bushes that were causing the raspberry patch to be such a jungle (at the entrance anyway). They were also blocking light to the lilac…which will bloom soon! Yay! I have to get in there and do more but the garden box has to be first!!! Many of the canes are doing well though and I look forward to a bigger harvest of berries this year than last.

After everything is in the ground, I’ll update the left sidebar with amounts and delete what was grown from seed and possible replace that with a “harvest report”. It is definitely going to be a small one…this garden is really only going to provide “snacks” for this large family…maybe a side dish or two at a couple of meals. But, we have been doing more and more, little by little, every year we’ve been here. Time and money. Time and money. Perhaps next year, we can do larger scale all at once… That would be so nice and such a blessing! 🙂

Off to get to it! Happy Gardening to all!

