Been too tired to blog much lately. Been plugging away at organizing things and tackling those boxes that have been haunting me. ๐Ÿ˜›

Accuweather indicator to the right is waaaay wrong…there has been torrential rains since Wed. evening…not a hint of sun! Wed. evening we were pleasantly surprised by another of God’s Lightening Shows! It’s darker earlier now so that at 10:30pm it was dusky enough to appreciate the flashes of light and by 11pm we were all amazed at how the backyard was lit up! It was right over us and the thunder was making the house shake – exciting!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ I heard on the news the next day that 3 houses were hit by it but couldn’t hear full details over the children. I will probably look it up online in a while. (**Actually, by the time I was done typing this, the indicator changed from partly cloudy/sunny to light rain. Still not totally “accu-rate”! ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

We’ve had the fireplace stoked up the last couple of days…tis the season again. We do the opposite of Marysue. ๐Ÿ˜‰ She turns off her air conditioning to save during the summer, we turn of our heater. ๐Ÿ˜‰ She struggles to stay cool most days. We stay just right most days but when the temp. drops a little too far on rainy days then we struggle to keep the chill off. I think ours is a bit easier as we can layer and have a fire. There’s only so much clothing you can take off. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Anyway, so the fireplace is going and I’m challenged once again to see just how long we can go before cranking up the ole furnace. ๐Ÿ™‚ One funny note, I had taken some papers out of a box to use as firestarter…old college papers…my children discovered that the backs of some were blank…perfect scrap paper for doodling on. I got to impress them while showing them my old Astronomy notes and reminiscing. ๐Ÿ˜‰ My oldest particularly liked looking at the math problems as she is getting into “higher” math (long multiplication and starting division this Fall). “Wow, Mother. That doesn’t make any sense!” LOL Things like:

Pluto a ≈ 39 AU P=½ √ a ³ P=½ √ (39) ³ = ½ √ 59,319 = 244 years

Not terribly difficult to figure out but a little boggling to a nearly-10 year old who isn’t there yet. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m tempted to save these notes as they are still interesting to read…but I still have the book and since I’ve forgotten most of this anyway it would probably behoove me to make new notes to relearn it. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Ah, memories. ๐Ÿ™‚

Chicken note:

The one that was bought as an Arucauna is not. What started out looking like ear tufts were the first two higher feathers of a “beard” that is fully grown out now. She definitely has a rump. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Her lower neck and shoulder feathers look like the Silver Laced Wynadotte’s. Her legs are greyish green rather than yellow though and her wing/back feathers are “primitive” looking – almost pheasantish.

The Black Jersey Giant, the second to youngest, is now completely caught up in size and even starting to out size all the other “girls”…even the oldest one (the Golden Comet).

They definitely cluck-cluck now rather than chirup-chirup. ๐Ÿ™‚

Garden note:

The garden is ok. We pulled a cauliflower. The flowers were starting to grow uneven but I was waiting hoping it would “fill out” more. It never did and the stalks got kinda “woody.” Oh well. We steamed and ate it anyway. ๐Ÿ˜‰

My tomato plants decide to flower out nicely and there are many green ones of various sizes out there. Not as good a crop as last year due to my waiting too long to start them in the house…but at least we have some. ๐Ÿ™‚

The corn is doing something!!! Despite being in pots. Two of the plants so far have “tassles.” They are really pushing it to produce “fruit” before the cold weather gets here…but I’m rooting for them!! ๐Ÿ™‚

I took another zuc out – a small one this time as I caught a slug doing a number on it. We have a few more that medium to large that I’ll get in the next couple of days probably.

I noticed another of the potato plants has died so I’ll need to dig those potatoes up soon. Wish the rain would quit long enough for me to do it without getting wet…

Tongue update:

The swelling has gone down completely on Baby’s tongue. The tissue looks fine, no infection. Cut looks even and like it’s “shortening up.” All will be well…completely when I’m not sure…hopefully not too many more weeks. We’ll see. Thanks again to everyone who is praying for his healing! ๐Ÿ™‚

Doctor note:

Went in for what I hope will be my last appoint (except for another check in a couple of months). The results should be back Mon. or Tues. I’ll update when I have them.

My parents are coming for the weekend. After living here for more than 30 years, they have never been to the State Fair (a major event!) so that is the plan. I’ve been a couple of times but it’s been quite a while. Ugh. I can’t stand the huge crowd. Of course, I’m really not looking forward to it if it’s going to keep raining like this!!! The mud + children + over indulgence in sugary fat laden food + hours of walk + ? = Wet, dirty, cranky, spoiled, tired children = one unpleased mommy! Somebody tell me everything will be OK?!?! LOL LOL. Ugh.

Ok, that’s about it for now. I’m going to go get toasty at the fire and enjoy a good book. ๐Ÿ™‚

