So far, not another egg. I checked continuously yesterday about every hour – a little less sometimes. When I first got up, it was about every 1/2 hour but that got to be a little too much running out in the cold for me. πŸ˜‰

Anyway, I’m guessing that it was an evening egg on Sunday…perhaps not too long before I actually went out there??? Which would have made the 24 hr. period come around last night and, since I did unplug the light, she is holding it over ’til today…sometime… When??? I’ve already run out there twice to check… Brrrr. The temps have dropped again. I wonder if she’s just too “shivery” right now… I do know that *all* of the straw is out of the nesting boxes and at the bottom of the coop where it’s basically getting wasted. Not totally because I will put it in the garden…but it’s not where it’s supposed to be and that irks me. πŸ˜› So, I will have to dress better and go out there and fill the boxes again and do some clean up maintainence. I do have a 1 inch “lip” on the openings of the boxes to supposedly keep the straw in…I guess these hens are feeling rather energetic this time (it acutally happened much quicker than last time) or I’ll have to put another strip of wood across the boxes.

So (strumming my fingers) …waiting and watching, waiting and watching…

** Update 12:55pm ** – I found an answer over at McMurray (although I wasn’t looking for one πŸ˜‰ ). “Younger hens will lay 1 egg every 3-4 days. A hen 30 weeks old can lay 2 eggs every 3 days. Some have been known to lay an egg a day. “ I don’t know why I didn’t run across the younger hen reference in my previous research. All the books and sites I’ve looked at only gave an average over all laying…unless I missed something…which is quite possible. πŸ˜‰ I’ll keep checking because I don’t want one laid and pecked at again. But, now I feel more relaxed about it. πŸ™‚

Actually, we aren’t too far away from the possible 1 egg/day as the youngest of the flock just recently turned 7 moths (28 weeks). So they get in a “groove” relatively quickly. That’s good. A couple more weeks for the gal that’s started perhaps??? πŸ™‚

