are you bored to tears yet? LOL

I don’t think the two I mentioned are necessarily “sick”. I didn’t see mucous from their noses all day yesterday nor so far today. I think it might be a case of “runny nose” like we people get when we are out in the cold. I remember it would happen to the other outside animals we had (horses, goats, dogs, etc.) while I was growing up now that I’ve thought about it. I think I may have seen some blood near or around a few of the dried loose droppings when I was cleaning yesterdaybut they were old and at this point I’m not sure if I’m “seeing” acturately. At any rate, neither of the birds are “acting sick”…they still have bright eyes, shiney feathers, eating/drinking well and are just as active as the others. Plus, like I’ve said before, the Jersey I noticed it with at the end of Summer/beginning of Fall…if it was some “drastic” sickness, I think she would have succumb by now. Or, maybe it’s a case of building immunity, like humans too. Maybe they do have “something” but since in all other ways they are well taken care of (to the best of my ability at the moment…they certainly aren’t spoiled! LOL) and happy perhaps their bodies are able to overcome it and build immunity the natural way rather than pumping them full of antibiodics. Just thinking out loud here…

Also, I forgot to mention, it was so amazing to see the color change in Black Beauty’s (I didn’t name this one! 😉 ) comb and wattle within seconds of laying!! She went from bright red to pink in a blink of an eye! Then, as I watched them all over the next 1/2 hr. it gradually became a light red again. Wow! That is such a cool indicator that God built into them. 😉 That and the cackling! I think it will be easier to predict laying now that I’m learning what to watch for. Also, Marysue mentioned in one of her posts, that they will “squat” under your hand…being reciptive to a rooster idea…a certain length of time before laying. My thinking is a little muddled on this account but I think the two that have definitely laid did that…I trying to sort out if any of the others have…??? More thinking out loud. 😉

All of this is mostly for my benefit of course. A place to track, remember, dig up info later and for posterity. 🙂 It feels good to finally have a place where I’m relatively consistant journaling…

