The wind died down some time in the wee hours of the morning. We heard our little guy start fussing and crying around 2:50am so dh got up to check on him as it was also a good time for him to take the middle two to the bathroom. (He took on that responsibility with our youngest daughter back when I was pregnant with our first son. It works out well. πŸ˜‰ Mostly it started because this daughter sleeps very very heavily and I had to carry her to the bathroom sometimes. I couldn’t continue that in later pregnancy. Plus, we were sleeping down stairs soon after that and going up and down the stairs with her…and then both her and ds#1…was too much for me! So, it’s our routine now. πŸ™‚ ) Anyway, when he came back to bed, he said it had snowed about 2 inches and now everything was melting like crazy. I then realized I didn’t hear the wind any more. When I got up at 6:32am, after I turned the dryer on ;), I went out on the deck to measure. There was an inch on the railing and the eves are running like crazy so it must have been at least 2 inches. It’s also raining very lightly. Ugh. 😦 So…

Total accumulation = 21 inches

I don’t think we’ll be going to church today. My back and hip are very painful. My neck is “out” and I woke up with a headache. And, my wrist hurts (from hammering πŸ˜‰ ). Plus, last night I was too beat to get anything ready except clothes for two of the children…after that, I crashed on the couch for a “quick break” but then realized how worn out I was physically. I almost didn’t get up and almost slept on the couch. My body thanked me though for making the effort to get to the bed after I laid down in it. Dh doesn’t want to take the children without me and he was less than enthusiastic anyway last night when we asked if we would be going. He has his reasons… Anyway, I have no idea what the roads are like also. That shouldn’t be an excuse as we have a family (sometimes two) that drives *much* farther to be there most weekends. However, our vehicle does have some major things that have to be fixed to make it really road-worthy in bad weather – the power steering is out, the power brakes are out…and something with the 4-wheel drive that I’m forgetting.

I’m bummed about it as I know the children will be…especially since we missed last weekend too. But, it’s just one of those days…things…

Today is the beginning of Advent though so we can combine that with a small worship service here and make it a good Lord’s Day! πŸ™‚

We’ve had an Advent wreath and candles for a few years now and have never used them. I’ve always meant to read up and find resources but have always put it off ’til too late. This year though, I’m prepared enough to start a new tradition. We are looking forward to it. Should make this day a little more special. πŸ™‚

I hope all of you have a very blessed Lord’s Day with your families! πŸ™‚

