but not “in with the new” in this particular instance yet.

I threw out our old highchair last night. Yes, it was an emotional occasion. 😉

It was at least 13 yrs. old. A hand-me-down from my aunt and uncle here in town. In excellent-like-new condition when we “inherited” it and we were glad to have that expense saved to us and it definitely proved it’s worth over the years. 🙂 (Their only child is 13 yrs. so, not taking into account when it was manufactured, that was it’s age.)

Closer to my heart is that it went through (not only her) all 5 of our “birthed” children! Sigh. Great memories with that highchair. I took it’s picture. Silly, I know…especially since it’s probably in dozens of pictures we already have. 😉 Actually, after I realized the decision I had just made, I had to run (as best I can right now! 😯 ) to the garage and insist my dh take it out of the house immediately before I changed my mind!! LOL Really, the chair had become a bit dangerous. The supports at the legs/seat had metal weakness and bent quite easily and (I think I mentioned this a few months back…) our older ds had been fooling around climbing on daddy and fell on the tray and broke the edge of the armrail part so that it only latched when fully pushed in close to the child. If you tried to pull it out a bit, while still being attached, to get the child out, the tray would fall off. Bad for a child who likes to stand up, lean or sit on the tray, try to climb out himself, etc. Plus, our little guy was “ready” and I knew we wouldn’t be needing another for another year or so. Although, my brain knew it was time, my heart cried, “Wait! We can make do a little longer with it!” Uhhmmm, NO! So, dh wisked it away for me. 😉

Nostalgia… 🙄

So, last night was our littlest one’s first time sitting in the booster…really at the table with the rest of the family!! 😀 So sweet! To see how happy and excited he was was so special! What a big boy he’s getting to be and he knew it too. 😉 He did really well…but then all of our children have never had much trouble eating neatly or well, etc. whether in a highchair or at the table. Dropped his fork a couple of times but otherwise took to it like a fish to water! 😉

New memories to join the old…I’m so glad. 🙂

