29 weeks today!

Again, all is well. Although, my blood test came back with low red blood cells. So, I could be anemic in one of three ways – iron, folic acid or a B vitamin. Since my midwife is still moving into her new house and home clinic, she has to find her book that tells which is which because she didn’t remember “off the top of her head.” Not to worry. She’s been doing this a long time and one little slip of memory doesn’t concern me in the least. 😉 She had a great time figuring out how baby was laying today and what the “pieces and parts” were. 😆 Baby is still posterior and kind of oblique today so finding the heartbeat took a while too. Baby kept moving all around giving her a run for her money and she kept laughing and telling Baby how funny (s)he was.

I love seeing a midwife rather than a doctor. It’s so much more “friendly” and personal. Their philosophy and approach to birth (and life itself) are just so different in “feel.” I don’t want to knock allopathic medicine at all…I very glad it’s there should I need it. But, when you live life in a “natural” approach, midwifery and home birth just can’t be beat! I “hear” it all the time…people who’ve experienced hospital births and then “take the chance” and have home births – there becomes no comparison in their minds which is better! Yes, bad things happen at home sometimes…just as they do in hopitals too. If you are in the care of competent and professional midwives that are well prepared, equipped and supplied, then most minor “emergencies” can be delt with quickly. If something more major happens, they are ready to handle that until transportation can occur. I just don’t live in fear of it. Sure *something* could happen…but don’t borrow trouble. Be educated and deal with it as it happens. The stats are out there if anyone is curious…I just don’t have time at the moment to dig them up and relay them here at this time. My parents were skeptical at first…they are firm “believers” now. 😉 (Same with the homeschooling. 😉 ) It’s nice to have their support although we are only comfortable with ourselves at our births. Dh’s sister thinks it’s “cool” too…although she thinks when the time comes she’ll work with a midwife through an OB’s office. Anyway, there is support there too and that’s nice.

Anyway, maybe the low blood count accounted for my day yesterday. I call days like that “growing days”…I can literally “feel” myself getting bigger it seems, etc. I also feel very tired all day generally. Yesterday, I spent nearly all day on the couch. My focus for cleaning was my desk/office area. I made progress…not as much as I would have like or could have on a non-pregnant day…but oh well. Anyway, by late-afternoon, I was wiped out and crashed on the couch. Napped pretty solidly (as much as one can with 5 other children busy around you) for an hour or more and then dozed off and on for a couple more hours or so. I was still there when dh came home. I had eldest dd start some things for dinner earlier and then he helped wrap things up. I felt so weepy too. My hip was just awful…I could barely get around anyway even if I wasn’t so tired. He told me not to worry about anything and just go lay down again. It was so sweet of him. 🙂 I felt like a lazy lump “making” him do that after working hard all day…but it was pretty much beyond me in many ways. 😉 I’m feeling much better today btw. 🙂 Although, today I haven’t tried to accomplish much and we were out most of the afternoon… Still, there’s hope for tomorrow! 🙂

Not sure where that ramble came from. 😉 Guess I haven’t been here for a few days so it was just ready to spill out! 😆 On to a couple more updates…

