I started _The Hope Chest_ yesterday. I’ve had this book sitting on my shelf for over a year but held off reading it because I was adamant about finishing the others I’d started first. I’ve been plugging away at those books more slowly than I usually do…perhaps it’s the content (requires more pondering) or just my “state of being” at this time. At any rate, I finally completed a couple of those (one I had already read but was reading aloud to the children) and feel justified in adding another book to the list.

None too soon either. My oldest daughter is/has reached that “young lady” stage. She’s more interested now in sewing and handwork than she’s ever been. Although I’ve taken some time in the past to teach her some of the basics, it hasn’t been enough time or enough basics. I need to buckle down and take these things more seriously and not just continue thinking “when I have the time.” I need to make the time now. She does well with cooking because that’s not something anyone can put off until they “have time.” πŸ˜‰ She’s done it every day with me for years and has quite a few things she can do on her own. I’ll not worry about anyone getting fed something after this baby arrives. It may not be full balanced “complete” meals…but they won’t starve! πŸ˜† She’s getting there (her sisters too) but it won’t happen “over night” – ie the next couple of months. πŸ˜‰

Anyway, it’s the other stuff I have to get serious about and I think this book will finally give me the “inspiration” I need. πŸ˜‰ I’ve looked forward to doing these kinds of things for years (even before they were born) with my daughters…must not let the opportunity pass into regret!!

I’ve also had TODKAH since our oldest was 3 or 4 years old…mostly for myself. But, I found I already knew many of the “basics” gone over in it in many of the areas covered so I haven’t touched that book in quite a long while either. Time to dust it off and get some inspiration there too…

I’m nervous about showing/letting her use the sewing machine…visions of a young lady in my home ec. class getting a needle through her finger. I know I’ll get past it…but I might be holding my breath the first few times. 😯

Actually, I think I just inspired myself a bit here! Fun times ahead! πŸ˜€

