October really got away from me as far as writing about anything. We are still in the midst of some tough things – finances and house mostly…but that makes other areas of life hard – and that makes it hard for me to be “talkative” here or otherwise. I’m refraining from going into detail as a preventative against sounding like a “pity party” is in progress. πŸ™‚ God is sustaining us through it though just as He promises and on the whole I’m content with what keeps me busy and my mind focused on the blessings in our lives!

That said, here is a general month-in-review for October at HAH.

Egg Report

The first couple of weeks there was no laying. Laying resumed 10/11 with Miriam and all three laying within the following five days. Total count for the month = 17

Business

W. continues to make knives here and there as he has time inbetween his maintainence/construction work. We list them mostly on Ebay as it’s still difficult finding the time to build a large inventory to fill his site as he’d like. Meanwhile, my store fills what would be relatively empty space and I’m thankful for the patrons God has brought our way despite my not “advertising” per say.

Celebrations

P. was christened on the 9th!! We praise God (again πŸ˜‰ ) for His love and promises toward His children and the children He gives to them!!

~*~ Happy 11th Birthday to our Dearest M.! ~*~ (On the 22nd.)

She continues to grow into a lovely, diligent and caring young lady. She is my “right hand woman” and there are times I don’t know how I’d get anything done without her! Her cooking skills are increasing wonderfully and I can trust her to be thorough when given a job and left to herself. Most of her school work could be done independently but we still enjoy a closeness that we don’t want to give up during that time so she continues on at the kitchen table while I teach the younger ones. Her basic hand sewing skills are improving…when her mother takes the time to show her something new…and we are looking ahead to starting her on the machine after the holidays. We’ve been reading Beautiful Girlhood aloud (and with her sisters) and she is really taking it to heart. She still enjoys “little girl” pursuits (A.G. doll and playing house) but her thoughts are more often shifting to “older girl” ideas. A young girl definitely in transition to a young maiden! πŸ™‚

The final celebration of the month was our Reformation Dinner and Party with our beloved church family! We are definitely enjoying the fruits of where God has led/is leading theologically in our lives and we can’t say enough about the wonderful people He has brought into our lives to worship and fellowship with!! (Hugs Grace! {{{mushy-mushy}}} )

Children
The boys got sick around the 5th and had it for few days before passing it to P. The night before her christening she was pretty snuffly and teething but you wouldn’t have known it that Sunday! She was just as smiley as ever. πŸ™‚ The week to follow though was kinda tough for her although the boys, by the end of the week, seemed on the mend.

The next week on the 18th first E. and then Q. (by bedtime) had had a relapse and they went to bed feverish. By the end of this week, all the girls had it in varying degrees…except P. who was now feeling her old self again. Even I had a sore throat, headache and clogged head for a handful of days.

When the end of the month rolled around, we were all healthy. πŸ™‚

On the 20th I marked down the P. was teething again. It’s been off and on for a couple of months now although I’ve only really started to keep track. Those two bottom front teeth are close…oh, so close…but not quite there yet.

The 21rst marked the first night P. slept through the night! πŸ˜€ From 11pm – 5:28am. I call 6 ½ a decent nights sleep! LOL I felt so refreshed the next day I almost didn’t know what to do with myself. πŸ˜‰ The following night was a rough one due to the excitement of having M.’s grandparents here for her birthday and all. But the night after, Sunday, she slept through again – probably totally worn out from that same excitement! (I know I was. πŸ™„ ) This time it last till the 27th. 6 hours (+ a little some nights) every night again. I had so much “extra” energy that week! The last few nights of the month she did not again – teething, a little snuffly again (but not sick sick) and the excitement of the Reformation Day party.

I’ve mentioned before that our youngest son has a language all his own and the cute ways that he says some of his siblings names…except his third sister’s. Well, the 28th marks the first time I heard him refer to her by any name and he has chosen to call her “Cissa” (kiss-a) which we all think is just so sweet and adorable. All of the children remark on how much he talks now. He always has…just not in the way we are used to. All of our children have talked in clear words/sentences (three words at least) very young and not much “jibberish” (having ones “own language”). Well, this boy does things his own way that’s for sure. πŸ˜‰ Guess he just wants to distinguish himself from the rest in his own unique ways. Anyway, his “baby speach” is now fading away and while I’m happy that he converses with us “normally”, I’m a little saddened to have that babyness and uniqueness slipping away. I know… I can’t have it both ways…but such it goes for mothers ay? πŸ˜‰ Oh, and I’m not sure if I mentioned or not that he calls his brother “Innin” or “Eon” although more so the last recently.

To end on a similar note, the 31rst marked the first time P. sat up all by herself!! No propping herself with her hands kinda leaning to one side. I came into our room to get something thinking she was still sleeping and as I tried to tiptoe passed her crib I heard a very cute giggle-squeal and as I turned thinking I’d just awoken her and I was going to swoop her out of her blankets my eyes got a shock at seeing her sitting there just as happy as could be playing with/chewing on one of her toys using both hands and sitting just as straight as you please as if she’d always known how!! *sigh* My little baby doesn’t seem so little any more…

Snow Report

We had our first snow fall on M.’s birthday (22nd) – 1 inch total.

We had snow again on the on the 27th – approx. 1/2 inch total.

It was “spitting” snow a couple of other times but quit without any accumulation to speak of.

October Total Accumulation = 1 1/2 inches

Egg Report

From now on I’ll just list a monthly total. I have it tallied on my calendar which I’ll save so I’ll have that to refer to as far as which were whose, etc.

October Egg Total = 16

And finally with that, October is complete. *whew* πŸ˜€

