Another fast month! Doesn’t help that it was a couple of days shorter. πŸ˜‰

Snow Report/Weather
More snow than we’ve had the previous few months…but some warm weather to melt it right away too!

2/01 8″ approx.

2/05 A Chinook blows in over night – quite literally. πŸ˜‰ Temp is 32 ° F @ 8am when I check! It warmed up a bit more and started raining around 1pm!

2/06 More rain again this morning!

2/07 Snow today – ½ “.

2/10 1 ” of snow in morning. Temp 46 ° F in the late afternoon!

2/12 3 ” of snow.

2/14 High of 50 ° F today! Sat on deck a while – kids playing in shirtsleeves!

2/15 High of 54 ° F!

The weather turned colder again the last week and a half of the month.

Egg Report/Chickens
2/16 1 – L. (very small)

2/17 1 – L. (small)

2/20 Chickens got to play outside today! I would have let them out last week if I had been thinking of it. Guess the nice weather had me in too much shock to think clearly! LOL The temp was still in the mid – hi 40’s so they really enjoyed themselves. πŸ˜€

Children
2/05 Another potty training victory!! I thought our second son would be the first boy ever to still be wearing diapers when he was 20! We’ve actually had him in training pants for quite a while and it was a toss up every day whether he’d stay dry and/or non-poopy all day. 95% of the time he stayed dry but invariably he would do the typical “find-a-spot-alone-and-do-the-deed.” I don’t “do” wipes, etc. diaper changes once a child is past a certain age πŸ˜• – I hose them off with the hand held shower head. When dh takes a turn, he just puts him in a regular shower. I guess it was warm, cozy and a lot of fun – something to look forward too. 😐 Finally, I had it and said we had to do something different because this was getting ridiculous! We both knew what the other was thinking and after two or three “cool” showers our ds has not had a poopy “accident” in a week!!

End of month update – Q. is officially potty trained!! The whole rest of the month he continually used the toilet whenever the urge struck – for for #1 and #2! Yay! That one last pull-up left in the bathroom drawer makes me a little sad and nostalgic…just a little. πŸ˜‰ I miss his babyness and his toddlerness is fading fast…but since I can’t change that, changing those “older toddler” diapers can go by just as fast as far as I’m concerned!

2/28 To end the month on another positive and wonderful note, P. slept through the night again (last night) finally!! This second tooth has really been a doozy…it’s still not in yet…but hasn’t been causing her any pain lately. She got a nice full belly at dinner and I took extra time to nursed her a long while at bedtime and she slept from Midnight to 8am!! I was able to get up at 7am and have a nice little Quiet Time before she awoke and the other children started stirring. I almost didn’t know what to do with myself after 7 hours of sleep. πŸ˜€ Also, she’s just a very light sleeper and it seems the slightest sounds wake her. If dh comes to bed later than we do, the creaks of the floor wake her. If dh coughs in his sleep, it wakes her. *sigh* The blankets were in a jumble one night so I sat up to straighten them…and it woke her…too much rustling of blankets?! πŸ™„ *sigh again* Anyway, our third daughter was like this and eventually grew out of it. In fact, many times when we wake her to use the bathroom in the night she is quite literally sleep-walking! So, there’s hope… I’m still enjoying her babyness sooo much though that most of the time it truly doesn’t bother me. The times of having babies in our house will pass just as fast or faster than this past month (and nearly a year!) have and I won’t wish them away for anything – not even a full nights sleep!! πŸ™‚

All in all, February went by too fast as the months usually do these days. But, it was a good month. Things are still tough, still working on some heavy decisions, still feeling an incredible amount of stress…but when I count my blessings I can’t help but fall on my knees in deep gratitude and prayers of thanksgiving to our Heavenly Father who does all things well…and in His own time. πŸ™‚

