1. Rest more.

2. Drink more water.

3. Very warm showers/baths. (Focus shower on affected area.)

4. HOT moist compresses. (Especially before nursing.)

5. Nurse with baby’s chin pointing toward affected area.

6. Massage affected area after h.m.c. and during nursing.

I already knew these and have been doing them over the course of the week. In the midst of the fever, pain, etc. though, it was hard to remember what I’d read/heard/learned. So, here it is in written form to refer to if it happens again (God forbid!). #5 was the hardest. Baby L. was mostly refusing that side, getting very upset and even screaming if I so much as *attempted* to present it to her. She didn’t want it in different *positions* either – thank you very much! πŸ˜› So forget trying to point her chin to it – which would have been the regular cradle hold but her belly more up near my neck – almost upside down! (How exactly I was going to do that while so out of it and in pain (remember all over body so bad I can hardly *hold* baby) AND with a struggling baby I don’t know… Guess I could have figured out a configuration while lying down… But, I can quit rehearsing it because she wouldn’t have gone for it anyway!!) To get her to take any milk out of it at all, I had to wait until she was very hungry and nurse on that side first (of course); but, after the initial letdown and gulping was done ;-), she would let go and turn her head away and start fussing (or crying/screaming if I so much as insisted *sigh*). She would still be hungry though and I was forced to give the other side despite the infected one not being drained as fully as it needed to be. I have a small battery operated pump that works ok in a pinch (read only when eng*rged and there’s plenty of milk to flow – which I’m not really) but didn’t have any batteries for because I haven’t used it in eons. I’m not sure it would have worked anyway as my previous aside alluded to. The most successful attempts were in the middle of the night when she was sleepy and didn’t know what was coming at her. πŸ˜‰ Again, as soon as the initial letdown was over, she wouldn’t take any more to speak of – sleepiness being the cause now though.

Anyway, I had the bright idea that I could now look things up on the Internet again. (Yes, a “duh” moment. Can you blame me? It’s been a rough week…) I was reminded of the following:

6. Raw garlic

7. Raw honey

8. Cabbage leaves

I have natural remedy books on garlic and honey that have been in my “to read” stack for ages that I really should “bump” up the stack sooner. πŸ™‚ Anyway, I know that they are both anti-bacterial, fungal, etc. and it should have occured to me to use them. Oh well. Since I’m still sort of “out of it” (fuzzy headed, sore, tired), I made sure I had some raw garlic today. I’m out of honey unfortunately. I heard about cabbage leaves a long time ago but never needed the info until now and since I do not generally buy cabbage there’s not a bit of cabbage in the house either. πŸ˜‰

Here’s a link to where I was reading and got my reminder πŸ˜‰ :

Welltellme.com – Mastitis

The article mentioned is here.

Also mentioned is Emergen-C. I have 3 packets left from pregnancy/labor and did think of trying it but just didn’t. I wasn’t feeling very hungry and probably the thought of the “taste” of something, anything as a turn off. I was hungry last night though and this morning and the thought of Emergen-C actually sounds good at the moment so as soon as I’m done typing I’ll go drink some of that as well. (I say “as well” because I drank my garlic crushed in a mug of boiling water like tea.)

Hope this information will be helpful to someone else…although I’ll be sorry at the same time…sorry that you need it. Mastitis is not fun. 😦

~ Tamara
♥ oxoxox ♥

