Officially typed out on 9/29/08

Children
2/21 Baby L. climbed the steps in cabin @ T.’s parent’s house all by herself!
2/23 Baby L. climbed up onto couch/Mommy’s lap by herself! I think a climbing phase has begun. šŸ˜‰

Travel
Went for a 2 week visit to T.’s parents. (late pm 17th to late pm 29th)

Weather
2/11 Snow = 5 ”
2/14 Snow = ¼ ”
2/16 – 2/17 Snow (forgot to measure)
2/18 42°F!! with some sprinkles. (visiting T.’s parents)
2/19 42°F!! with rain. (visiting T.’s parents)
2/20 Temp has dropped to 40°F. (visiting T.’s parents)

Monthly Accumulation = 5 – 6″ (or so)

While at my parent’s visiting, I butchered our chicken Fluff on 2/26. She had become an egg eater. šŸ˜¦ (We brought the chickens with us as we didn’t have anyone to care for them while we were gone. Thankfully, we only had three and they fit just fine in a large pet carrier in the back of the ‘Burban. Wrapped securely with a blanket, there was no smell. šŸ™‚ ) My father skinned her out for me while I watched with the children. (It’s been a while since I’ve skinned a spruce hen or anything. šŸ˜‰ ) It was interesting the to see the eggs lined up for development. There were 4 yolks – 1 about the size of a salmon egg, 1 the size of a large pea, 1 the size of a very large berry and 1 the size of a grape. It was also disappointing to see them because the chickens hadn’t been laying for a while and this proved they would be starting in a couple of weeks or so. šŸ˜¦ Anyhow, not thinking of her age, I baked her the next day. She was approx. a 3lb. bird. The lovely mix of garlic, rosemary, thyme and summer savory did not make her very edible though – although she smelled wonderful! So, the day after that, I stewed her. She was one tough bird but she eventually made a lovely chicken noodle soup! šŸ˜‰ My guilt continues…although I know I was justified. šŸ˜•

