We have been in “remodeling mode” around here for quite some time. In our discussions about walls and windows, I’ve been telling dh for the past few years that I want to replace all the blinds in the house with wrought iron curtain rods and curtains. (I know that’s more of a “redecorating” issue than “remodeling” but it all ties in…bear with me. 😉 ) Our living room used to have wooden blinds…the originals from the seventies. Dh took them down about 4 years ago because, when drawn up, they blocked about 2 inches of his vision out the window (he’s quite tall). I wanted to do the curtain thing then but he wasn’t keen on it and wanted me to wait on it anyway due to him wanting to repaint, etc. He wanted to just put up some temporary cheaper *thinner* blinds until we could come to a final decision and had the work done that needed to be done. It’s been 4 years. 😕 Then, we took down the vertical blinds in the dining area not too long after that because they were really worn and ugly and we just happened to have been given a set of “regular” blinds that would fit there…again, temporarily. Now, a set of blinds in the living room broke last year. Dh cut the strings so they wouldn’t be lopsided and we’ve lived with just twisting those open and closed instead of drawing them up and down. Eventually, that set started to lose slats and started to look really bad. Recently, the “new” blinds that had been hung over the sliding door had a string fray and so we were living with it half drawn when I even bothered to draw them on that side. (I wouldn’t have bothered to draw that one at all if I weren’t so desperate to let as much light in as possible…it’s Alaska remember? The Land of the Dark for more than half the year. 🙄 ) Thankfully, it was the side that was just window not door. Well, yesterday, something happened with another set of the blinds in the living room. (We have four windows across that wall.) I don’t even know what it was. I heard one of the girls call to me saying something about the boys and the blinds and before I could address it…almost before I could turn around…dh was removing that blind as well! Then he says to me, “Don’t you have some curtains we can put across here.” 😯 !!!!! I won’t mention the lack of memory on certain details of said topic… 😉 I just told him no I didn’t have any and would think of something. 🙂

Can you just imagine my delight at running across this site for curtain rods today!! I’m love, love, lovin’ it! I spent quite a bit of time there going through all the items. I don’t consider it wasted time because, although I have no idea where the funds will come, I consider it confirmation to pursue the path I’ve always hoped to in this regard. I refuse to think anything less. 🙂

Not only did I find curtain rods

I found things for the entryway

the bathroom

and other areas of the house

including cabinet hardware!!

Remember when I was wanting new hardware for our kitchen cabinets?! Excuse me while I wipe up the keyboard… 😉

Anyhow, this house stuff has dragged on and on and it’s times like this that I’m given reassurance that we will eventually complete what needs to be done. My enthusiasm and hope is renewed and I’m given that little bit of “umph” that I need to persevere. We won’t be forever reconstructing our home but actually “prettying” it up too. 🙂

Blessings,
~Tamara
♥ oxoxox ♥

