(Officially typed 1/22/10)

Celebrations

11/1 Reformation Conference

11/27 Dinner @ home this year for Thanksgiving! It really felt good to be home although kinda different too. My parents joined us and it was nice and quiet and relaxing. Well, as quiet and relaxing as things can be with seven children! πŸ™‚ It was nice not to have to drive – especially on slippery roads. Plus, since I hadn’t been feeling well, it was more of a relief. Everything was yummy and the children were glad for an opportunity to finally use my good china again! πŸ™‚

Children

11/17 Potty training has begun for my baby!! L. used the potty for the first time today (#1)! She’s been interested for a while and we would put her on the big potty occasionally but, of course, there was the nervousness of being over that big opening. A few times we had success so I finally told one of the older girls to run out to the shed and find the little potty. We excitedly showed it to L. and showed her how to sit on it. A little while later when I took her to the bathroom she used it without much prompting at all. Her night-time diapers have been dry for quite a while so I definitely know she’s ready. 19mo and getting to be such a big girl! *sniff-sniff*

11/23 L. has been using the potty regularly but today she went all by herself and #2 even! I’d say potty training is complete – just like that. Exactly a week and pretty much trained herself! Of course, I’m sure I’ll have to remind every now and then. Like all children, she’ll probably get busy playing and forget, etc. Although it makes me a little sad, I’m glad it’s accomplished and so quickly!

11/25 No fluke. L. again used the potty by herself for #2 – twice in fact! It’s a little hard having one so young be so independent in this area as she doesn’t quite understand that it’s important to also wipe. πŸ˜‰ And, her motor skills have to catch up to do it well. Getting her to call to us to help is a challenge…as I said, she’s an independent sort. πŸ˜‰

Homemaking

11/3 Can’t believe I’m starting our 4th Kombucha batch already! We have two jars going now. It brews a little more slowly in our cool house I think than I’ve read others write but once it’s ready it’s gone! After this month, I won’t be recording any more. I just want to get a sense of how long it was taking and just how much we’d be needing, etc.

11/5 5th started.

11/8 6th.

11/11 Co-op order arrived.

11/14 7th. Peeled off and started a new “baby.”

11/16 8th. The original switched.

11/23 9th.

11/25 10th.

Weather

11/11 Snow = 3″ (approx.)

11/22 Snow = 3″ (approx.)

11/26 Snow = 2″

11/29 – 30 12″ over two days!!

Total Snow = 20″

And, a couple of pics:


During this month’s heavy snowfall.


One of our lovely winter sunsets.

‘Til next time,

