As much as I hate to say it, this is our new blog home on the web. Not that I don’t like WordPress or anything – I do! I used WordPress on our other self-hosted blog. But, that blog, the business website, that hosting company, is apparently gone. Gone without notice. 7 years worth of blog history plus all business contacts GONE. I did back up everything a while ago. Can’t remember how long. Can’t find it on one external drive and will be checking another soon. Not that I think I can extract the info… I backed it all up in case something like this should occur. Well, not exactly this but some unforeseen disaster. Anyhow, I’m pretty bummed about it still. The children and I had fun looking back over old posts occasionally. I keep a record of things on the calendar and, of course, pictures. But, I’m not a great “diary keeper” and the old blog was essentially just that.

As you can see, there are some “ancient” posts before this one. Long before we had private hosting, I had a free site and then tried Blogger. I never deleted the blogger posts and so was able to transfer them here. It’s something…but compared to what was lost, it’s almost nothing. I’m not going to mope about it too long. I am a little ticked though and grieved a bit. It will pass eventually…

I don’t remember off the top of my head all that I had in my sidebar or blogroll, etc. but I’ll do my best over time to add back what I can. (Feel free to remind me of things in a comment if you want.)

So, that’s my first official post here…a rant and a lament. Off to a good start huh? Hopefully, it will feel like home sooner rather than later. (I already miss doing my own html/css, etc.)

‘Til next time,
Tamara

