“Well’m, faith ain’t no magic wand or money-back gar’ntee, either one. Hit’s jest a way alivin’. Hit means you don’t worry th’ew the days. Hit means you go’n be holdin’ on to God in good or bad times, and you accept whatever happens. Hit means you respect life like it is – like God made it – even when it ain’t what you’d order from the wholesale house. Faith don’t mean the Lord is go’n make lions lay down with lambs jest cause you ast him to, or make fire not burn. Some folks, when they pray to git well and don’t even git better, they say God let’m down. But I say thet warn’t even what Jesus was a-talkin’ bout. When Jesus said ast and you’ll git it, He was givin’ a gar’ntee a-spiritual healin’, not body healin’. He was sayin’ thet if’n you git beat down – scairt to death you cain’t do what you got to, or scairt you go’n die, or scairt folks won’t like you – why, all you got to do is put yore hand in God’s and He’ll lift you up. I know it for a fact, Love. I can pray, ‘Lord, hep me not be scairt,’ and I don’t know how, but it’s like a eraser wipes the fears away. And I found out long time ago, when I look on what I got to stand as a dang hardship or a burden, it seems too heavy to carry. But when I look on the same dang thang as a challenge, why, standin’ it or acceptin’ it is like you done entered a contest. Hit even gits excitin’, waitin’ to see how everthang’s go’n turn out.

~ Cold Sassy Tree, pg. 363, emphasis added.

Amen to that bolded section! I have learned that first hand! Once you have that mind-set and practice it routinely, it is exciting to see how God is going to work everything out no matter how hard it is going through it! It’s taken a long time to learn and I lament that sometimes…it took something pretty devastating for it to finally sink in…but God put me on this journey and brings lessons in His own time and His own way. I am truly able to thank Him in and through hardship now and I love Him for it!

‘Til next time,
Tamara

